Empty Link

Dermot Griffin appointed to the Credit Union Advisory Committee

Posted on: 27 Jul 2021

The ILCU wish to congratulate Dermot Griffin, CEO of CUSOP on his appointment to the Credit Union Advisory Committee (CUAC).

The Minister for Finance, Paschal Donohoe TD, yesterday announced the appointment of Mr. Dermot Griffin as a new member to CUAC. Dermot is the CEO of the Credit Union Service Organisation for Payments (CUSOP) and brings with him a wealth of experience in the corporate sector. His previous roles include CEO of National Lottery and Commercial Director for Vodafone Ireland. Dermot also serves on the Dublin Chamber of Commerce Council.

The CUAC group advises the Minister for Finance in accordance with its mandate under Section 180 of the Credit Union Act 1997. The CUAC’s function is to advise the Minister for Finance and such other persons as the Minister thinks fit regarding: the improvement of the management of credit unions; the protection of the interests of members and creditors of credit unions; and other matters relating to credit unions upon which the Minister, the Central Bank or such other persons as may be specified by the Minister may from time to time seek the advice of the Committee.

Dermot Griffin will join Ms Lorraine Corcoran, Chair, Director Afanite; Dr. Olive McCarthy , Senior Lecturer & Director, UCC Centre for Co-operative Studies Mr Seamus Newcombe , CEO, Payac; Mr Diarmaid O’Keeffe , Head of Audit, EisnerAmper Ireland; Ms Elizabeth Boylan, Director, Progressive Credit Union; and Mr. Michael Ahern, CEO, Dubco Credit Union as the CUAC Board. Dermot will serve a three year term on the board starting from September 1st 2021.