Empty Link

Winners of Credit Union Art Competition Announced

Posted on: 12 Feb 2023

The Irish League of Credit Unions (ILCU) is delighted to announce the winners of the 2022 Art Competition.

The theme for this year’s Competition was ‘It’s A Wonderful World’. Participants were given the opportunity to present their own interpretation of the magic in our world and what we can do to maintain that magic.

The competition, now in its 39th year, is one of the most prominent and longest-running competitions of its type. Over 30,000 entries on average are received each year from children and adults from across Ireland.  This year, the winners and runners up of each category (both General and Additional Needs) were announced at a prizegiving ceremony held in Croke Park, hosted by Marty Whelan.

ILCU President Helene McManus said “It was fantastic to welcome all of the finalists to the prizegiving in person again for the first time since 2020. This year’s theme really brought out the creativity, vision and dreams of all of our entrants. The standard this year was incredible, our judges certainly had their work cut out for them”.

The Credit Union Art Competition is dedicated to supporting and developing the arts in Irish society. The credit union movement has always had a keen commitment to promoting and encouraging involvement in the arts across communities and engaging with young people across the country.

Helene McManus continued “Credit unions are community focused by nature and are owned and operated by the members. It is incredibly important for us to support our communities, especially the younger generations.”

The winners of each category for the 2022 competition are as follows:

Age 7 & Under

  • General category: Jessica Kearney, Mitchelstown

  • ANs category: Sarah Thompson, Portadown

Age 8-10

  • General category: Evie Corcoran, Ardee

  • ANs category: Varvara Babachenko, Roscommon

Age 11-13

  • General category: Isabela Littieri Silva, Cara

  • ANs category: Oran O’Hara, Granard

Age 14-17

  • General category: Al Healy, Mallow

  • ANs category: James Moonan, Drogheda

Age 18

  • General category: Ash Byrne, Drogheda

  • ANs category: James Wellwood, Thurles

The full list of competition winners can be viewed here.